MS Dhoni becomes most successful wicketkeeper in IPL history


S Dhoni overtook Kolkata Knight Riders captain Dinesh Karthik to become the most successful wicketkeeper in the history of the Indian Premier League. Dhoni needed 2 dismissals to go past Karthik before the start of the IPL 2019 final between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians in Hyderabad on Sunday.

MS Dhoni, playing in his 190th IPL match, went past Dinesh Karthik with his 2nd dismissal of the match. He has led Chennai Super Kings to 3 IPL titles and played for Rising Pune Supergiant in 2016 and 2017 when CSK were serving a 2-year suspension.

MS Dhoni equalled Dinesh Karthik’s record when he held on to an edge from Quinton de Kock off Shardul Thakur in the 5th over and went past DK in the next over when he took a catch to dismiss Rohit Sharma off Deepak Chahar.

S Dhoni has led Chennai Super Kings to 8 finals out of the 10 seasons they have played in the Indian Premier League.

Dinesh Karthik, who now leads Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League has effected 131 dismissals – 101 catches and 30 stumpings. MS Dhoni now has 132 dismissals as a wicketkeeper in the IPL.

Incidentally, Robin Uthappa, who has 90 dismissals behind the wickets and is 3rd on the list, is a regular wicketkeeper. Parthiv Patel, now with Royal Challengers Bangalore, has 82 dismissals from 139 matches while Wriddhiman Saha, with 75 dismissals from 120 IPL matches is 5th in the list.

Vizag is a happy hunting ground for MS Dhoni who had scored his first ODI hundred in the city against Pakistan on April 5, 2005. After Sachin Tendulkar was run out for 2, MS Dhoni walked in at No.3 and hit 148 off 123 while Virender Sehwag smashed a 40-ball 74 as India won by 54 runs.

MS Dhoni has several other IPL records to his name.

In April 2019, MS Dhoni became the 1st captain to win 100 matches in the Indian Premier League when he led Chennai Super Kings to a 4-wicket victory over Rajasthan Royals in Jaipur. During a thriller against Royal Challengers Bangalore, MS Dhoni became the 1st Indian to hit 200 sixes in the Indian Premier League. He hit 7 sixes in a career-best 84 not out off 48 balls but Chennai Super Kings lost the game by 1 run.