Presidential election | Counting ends, Ram Nath Kovind is the next President of India


The final voting count has arrived. NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind has won with votes valuing 702644. Meira Kumar received votes valuing 367314. Ram Nath Kovind will be the 14h President of India.

The official announcement has been made now.

The voting took place on Monday.

Counting began at 11 am with the ballot box of Parliament House being opened first, followed by ballot boxes received from states in alphabetical order. The votes are being counted on four separate tables and there will be eight rounds of counting. An Election Commission official, who has witnessed previous two presidential polls, said usually results are declared around 5 PM.

Close to 99 per cent voting was recorded for electing India’s next president. Thirty two polling stations, including the one in Parliament House, were set up in various states. A total of 4,896 voters — 4,120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs — were eligible to cast their ballot. MLCs of states with legislative council are not part of the electoral college.

While the value of an MLA’s vote depends on the population of his or her state, the value of an MP’s vote remains the same at 708. The numbers are stacked in favour of the ruling coalition’s nominee Kovind, a former Bihar governor, over the opposition’s candidate and former Lok Sabha Speaker Kumar.